My Happy Place

I have always been someone that enjoys the opportunity to be creative and solve problems. I am that weird kid that likes Sudoku and those maddening wooden puzzle games. When I was introduced to Pinterest, it quickly became something addicting. It’s not healthy, I’ll admit that, but it is such a wonderful platform for others to share ideas and projects that I never would have thought of on my own. I will sift through that website for hours looking for a DIY weekend project that I want to tackle. If I could create for a living, I would…so that’s what I’m going to do. It won’t happen over night, or maybe even over the next few years, but eventually I want to wake up, have my morning coffee, and bust out the hot glue gun, or the Mod Podge and get to work. I’ve spent a long time thinking that I had to come up with some original idea and excel at it before I put it out there, or telling myself that nobody would want the things that I make. But at this point, I don’t care. Crafting things makes me happy and keeps my brain active. If someone wants to buy the thing I make, great. If they don’t, great. I’m going to do it for me and my sanity. Also, the least I can do is try to sell it and give the money to a dog rescue. If you don’t know this about me already, I am a dog lover and my heart lies with the animals. Maybe I’ll just have a closet full of failed projects, but they will have been learning experiences. So, at 26 years old, I will start doing something just for the sake of happiness.

If you like this idea of creating just because, you should most definitely read Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert (author of Eat, Pray, Love). 

Leave a Reply

